Skip to content
BryanFabrication Works
ADA Signs

ADA Sign Requirements in Florida: The 2026 Business Guide

ADA sign requirements in Florida follow the 2010 ADA Standards: 48 to 60 inch mounting, Grade 2 braille, 5/8 to 2 inch tactile letters, and what is exempt.

By Bryan, owner14 min read
Oversized painted white and red dimensional letters with a brushed metal-finish founding-date plaque on a dark wood-slat feature wall in a Tampa office lobby.

Florida does not write its own ADA sign rules. In 2025, Florida Statute s. 553.503 adopts the federal ADA Standards for Accessible Design "as the law of this state" and folds them into the Florida Accessibility Code for Building Construction (The Florida Senate, Florida Statutes 2025 s. 553.503, 2025). So when we build ADA signs in Tampa, we work from the 2010 ADA Standards, mainly sections 216 and 703.

This guide is educational, not legal advice. Our shop builds signs to ADA guidelines and confirms specs before fabrication, but we do not certify compliance. Final sign-off rests with your building department or code authority. What follows is the plain-English version of what those sections ask for, and where owners most often get tripped up.

Key Takeaways

  • Florida adopts the federal 2010 ADA Standards by statute (s. 553.503), so the sign rules here are the federal ones.
  • Permanent room signs need raised uppercase letters and Grade 2 braille; directories, logos, and menus are exempt.
  • Tactile characters mount 48 to 60 inches to baseline, on the latch side of the door (U.S. Access Board, 2022).
  • The "70 percent contrast" figure is advisory. It is not in the 2010 Standards.

Does Florida have its own ADA sign code?

No. The code in force is the Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023), adopted under Fla. Admin. Code R. 61G20-1.001, with the latest rule amendment effective February 23, 2025 (Cornell Legal Information Institute, Fla. Admin. Code Ann. R. 61G20-1.001, 2025). Its Accessibility volume carries the federal 2010 ADA Standards, so sections 216 and 703 apply in Florida as written.

A 9th Edition is on the way. We won't guess at an effective date here; check floridabuilding.org before a large order, and we'll do the same on our end.

One law confuses people. In 2025, Florida's s. 553.865, the "Safety in Private Spaces Act," applies to correctional and detention facilities, educational institutions, and government-owned or leased buildings (The Florida Senate, Florida Statutes 2025 s. 553.865, 2025). It does not cover private businesses, and it is not a sign-design rule. Your restroom sign specs still come from section 703.

The rules exist because the audience is large. In 2022, 28.7 percent of U.S. adults reported having a functional disability (CDC, Disability and Health Data Now, 2025). A restroom sign a visitor can read by touch is a small cost next to a visitor who can't find the door.

A brushed metal-finish credit union lobby logo wall with a cut Florida map and small lit location markers, stud-mounted in a Tampa lobby.
Brushed lobby signage like this is what ADA room signs get matched to in finish and color

Which signs need raised letters and braille?

Signs that identify permanent rooms and spaces need both. Section 216.2 of the 2010 ADA Standards covers "room and floor numbers or letters; room names; and labels for restrooms, locker rooms, cafeterias, libraries, conference rooms, mechanical rooms, and other permanent rooms or spaces" (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). Section 216.8 adds that toilet and bathing room signs must comply with 703.

SignTactile and braille required?Notes
Restroom and bathing room signsYesSection 216.8: must comply with 703
Room numbers, letters, and names (offices, exam rooms, conference rooms)YesSection 216.2: permanent rooms and spaces
Exit stair, exit passageway, and exit discharge door labelsYesSection 216.4.1
Directional and informational signsNo, visual rules onlySection 216.3: meet the 703.5 visual criteria
Building addresses and directoriesNoExempt under section 216
Occupant names, company names, and logosNoExempt; a lobby logo sign is not an ADA sign
MenusNoExempt
Temporary signs posted 7 days or lessNoExempt
Seat and row designations in assembly areasNoExempt

In practice, the question we hear most is whether a room counts as permanent. Our rule at the counter: if the room's purpose won't change when the tenant moves furniture, it gets a tactile sign. Exam rooms, storage, electrical closets, break rooms, and suite numbers all fall in that group. A lobby logo sign does not, because company names and logos are exempt.

Tactile character rules under section 703.2

Raised characters must stand 1/32 inch minimum off the surface, be uppercase and sans serif, and measure 5/8 inch minimum to 2 inches maximum in height, based on the uppercase letter I. The 2010 ADA Standards also cap stroke thickness at 15 percent maximum of character height (U.S. Department of Justice, 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design, 2010).

Spacing has its own limits. Character spacing runs 1/8 inch minimum to 4 times the raised stroke width maximum (703.2.7), and line spacing runs 135 percent minimum to 170 percent maximum of character height (703.2.8) (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). Italic, oblique, script, and highly decorative faces are prohibited.

From the shop floor: Thin, tight brand fonts fail 703.2 two ways. A light-weight face at 5/8 inch high has a stroke so fine that the raised letter chips or reads as a scratch under a fingertip. And tight kerning drops below the 1/8 inch minimum gap, so adjacent letters blur together by touch. We see both on artwork that looks fine on a screen.

So we don't set tactile copy in a brand font. We set it in a plain sans serif at the height the sign calls for, check stroke width against the 15 percent cap, and carry the brand in the panel color and finish instead. The raised copy can sit on painted acrylic panels or a brushed metal-finish face; the letters themselves stay plain.

Braille rules under section 703.3

Braille must be contracted Grade 2, with domed or rounded dots, positioned directly below the raised characters it matches and separated by 3/8 inch minimum from tactile characters and other tactile elements. Table 703.3.1 in the 2010 ADA Standards sets dot base diameter at 0.059 to 0.063 inch and dot height at 0.025 to 0.037 inch (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022).

The same table sets 0.090 to 0.100 inch between two dots in one cell, 0.241 to 0.300 inch between corresponding dots in adjacent cells, and 0.395 to 0.400 inch between corresponding dots in the cell directly below (U.S. Department of Justice, 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design, 2010). For multi-line text, the braille goes below the entire block, not under each line. The Access Board notes that Grade 2 now includes Unified English Braille.

Those tolerances are why we build braille with raster beads or photopolymer rather than routing dots. Raster beads are small spheres pressed into drilled holes, so dot height and diameter come from the bead, not from a cutter that wears over a run. Photopolymer raises dots and letters from one sheet. Either way the dome shape holds.

Close-up of gloss black acrylic dimensional letters mounted on a white studio wall in Tampa.
Gloss lobby letters like these set the color for the ADA room signs nearby, though the ADA panels themselves use a non-glare finish

The photo above shows the one thing we won't copy onto a room sign: gloss. We'll match ADA room signs to the color of your dimensional letters, but the ADA panel gets a matte or satin surface. The contrast section below explains why.

How high do ADA signs have to be mounted?

Tactile characters must sit 48 inches minimum and 60 inches maximum above the finish floor, measured to the baseline of the characters: 48 inches to the baseline of the lowest tactile character and 60 inches to the baseline of the highest (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). Under the 2010 ADA Standards, the sign goes on the latch side of a single door.

Double doors follow their own rule. If each door has an active leaf, the sign goes to the right of the right-hand door; if one leaf is inactive, the sign goes on that inactive leaf (U.S. Department of Justice, 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design, 2010). Where there's no wall space on the latch side, the sign goes on the nearest adjacent wall.

One exception exists. A tactile sign is permitted on the push side of a door that has a closer and no hold-open device. Every tactile sign also needs an 18 inch by 18 inch minimum clear floor space, centered on the tactile characters and located beyond the arc of the door swung open to 45 degrees (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022).

From the shop floor: Mounting is the item we find installed wrong most often, and usually not by much. The common miss is measuring 60 inches to the top of the panel instead of to the baseline of the raised letters, which pushes the copy too high. The second is hanging the sign on the door itself, which breaks the clear-floor-space rule the moment the door swings. We mark the baseline on the wall before drilling.

Contrast, finish, pictograms, and the wheelchair symbol

Characters and their background need a non-glare finish and must contrast, either light-on-dark or dark-on-light. The Access Board states verbatim: "A minimum level of contrast is not specified in the Standards. The higher the contrast, the better for legibility, particularly for people with low vision" (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). No percentage appears in the 2010 Standards.

So where does 70 percent come from? A 1992 DOJ technical-assistance letter quotes the 1991 ADAAG Appendix A4.30.5: "signs are more legible for persons with low vision when characters contrast with their background by at least 70 percent," and states the Appendix "contains materials of an advisory nature" (U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division, ADA Technical Assistance Letter TAL 044, 1992). Advisory, and from the 1991 guidelines, not the current ones.

A measurable number is coming, just not to Florida yet. The International Sign Association reports that ICC A117.1-2025 establishes a 65 percent contrast requirement for most signs, with IBC adoption likely in 2027 (International Sign Association, Sign Contrast, undated). Florida's accessibility code follows the ADA Standards, so treat this as a watch item. We design for strong contrast anyway, because it reads better and costs nothing extra.

Pictograms have one hard dimension. Under section 703.6.1, the pictogram field must be at least 6 inches high, with the text descriptor in raised characters and braille directly below the field (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). The International Symbol of Accessibility (703.7.2.1) is required at accessible entrances, toilet and bathing rooms, parking, check-out aisles, and existing elevators "unless all are accessible." Both need a non-glare finish and contrast.

Florida adds a plumbing-code layer for restrooms. In the 2023 FBC-Building, section 2902.1.2 says single-user and family or assisted-use toilet rooms "shall be identified as being available for use by all persons regardless of their sex," and section 2902.4 says signs for accessible toilet facilities "shall comply with Section 1111" (UpCodes, 2023 FBC - Building, 8th edition, Chapter 29 Plumbing Systems, 2023). That is a code reproduction, so confirm with your building department.

Directional signs skip braille but size their letters by viewing distance. Table 703.5.5 in the 2010 ADA Standards works like this (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022):

Baseline height above floorViewing distanceMinimum character height
40 to 70 inchesUnder 6 feet5/8 inch
40 to 70 inches6 feet and over5/8 inch, plus 1/8 inch per foot beyond 6 feet
Above 70 inches, up to 10 feetUnder 15 feet2 inches
Above 70 inches, up to 10 feet15 feet and over2 inches, plus 1/8 inch per foot beyond 15 feet
Above 10 feetUnder 21 feet3 inches
Above 10 feet21 feet and over3 inches, plus 1/8 inch per foot beyond 21 feet

That table is why a corridor sign and a room sign from the same custom interior signage package can carry different letter heights and still match in color and finish.

Who enforces ADA sign requirements in Florida?

Your local building department does. Under s. 553.513, in 2025 "it shall be the responsibility of each local government and each code enforcement agency" to enforce Florida's accessibility act, and the act preempts county and municipal accessibility standards (The Florida Senate, Florida Statutes 2025 s. 553.513, 2025). Federal enforcement and private lawsuits sit on top of that.

The federal numbers are large but rarely about signs. For penalties assessed after July 3, 2025, DOJ's civil penalty maximums under ADA Title III are $118,225 for a first violation and $236,451 for a subsequent violation (U.S. Department of Justice / GovInfo, Civil Monetary Penalties Inflation Adjustments for 2025, 2025).

Lawsuit counts tell a similar story. In 2025, Seyfarth Shaw counted 1,823 ADA Title III federal filings in Florida, second in the nation (Seyfarth Shaw LLP, ADA Title III Federal Lawsuit Filings Fall Slightly to 8,667 in 2025, 2026), and 709 in the first half of 2026 (Seyfarth Shaw LLP, 2026 Mid-Year Report: ADA Title III Federal Lawsuit Numbers Are Climbing, 2026). Those counts cover all Title III suits, mostly website and physical-access cases, not signage specifically.

For most businesses the practical risk is closer to home: a sign schedule that's wrong before install. On the buildings we survey, the expensive mistakes are a room list that skipped the storage closets, restroom signs ordered without a pictogram field, and copy set in a brand font. Fixing the schedule on paper takes an hour; re-ordering a set of signs costs the set. The same logic from what lobby signs cost applies: decisions made before fabrication are the cheap ones.

To price an ADA package, we need three things. A floor plan, or a walk-through if you're in the Tampa area; a room list with the exact copy for each door; and the finish you want matched, usually the lobby sign. From that we build a room-by-room schedule, then you can request a quote with the schedule attached.

Frequently Asked Questions

What height do ADA signs need to be mounted?

Tactile characters sit 48 inches minimum and 60 inches maximum above the finish floor, measured to the baseline of the raised characters, not the panel edge (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). Mount on the latch side of the door with an 18 by 18 inch clear floor space in front. Measure to the letter baseline before you drill; that is the miss we see most.

Do bathroom signs have to have braille?

Yes. Section 216.8 of the 2010 ADA Standards requires toilet and bathing room signs to comply with 703, which means raised uppercase characters, contracted Grade 2 braille, a non-glare finish, and contrast (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). If the sign carries a pictogram, the field must be at least 6 inches high with the text and braille below it.

Which signs must be ADA compliant?

Signs that identify permanent rooms and spaces. Restrooms, room numbers and names, conference rooms, mechanical rooms, and exit stair doors need tactile characters and braille under section 216 of the 2010 Standards (U.S. Department of Justice, 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design, 2010). Directional signs need the visual rules only. Directories, company names, logos, menus, and temporary signs posted 7 days or less are exempt.

Do ADA signs need 70 percent contrast?

No. The Access Board states that "a minimum level of contrast is not specified in the Standards" (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). The 70 percent figure comes from the advisory appendix to the 1991 ADAAG, quoted in a 1992 DOJ letter (U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division, ADA Technical Assistance Letter TAL 044, 1992). We still design for strong light-on-dark or dark-on-light contrast because it reads better.

Does Florida have its own ADA code?

Florida has its own accessibility code, but the sign rules inside it are the federal ones. In 2025, s. 553.503 adopts the federal ADA Standards "as the law of this state" and incorporates them into the Florida Accessibility Code for Building Construction (The Florida Senate, Florida Statutes 2025 s. 553.503, 2025). Local building departments enforce it. Our general shop FAQ covers deposits and install scheduling.

Are pictograms required on restroom signs?

The 2010 ADA Standards themselves do not mandate a man or woman pictogram. They require raised characters and braille on restroom signs, set a 6 inch minimum field for any pictogram used, and require the International Symbol of Accessibility on accessible toilet rooms "unless all are accessible" (U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 7: Signs, 2022). Florida's FBC-Building section 2902.4 asks for signs designating sex near the entrance; confirm with your building department.

The short version

Florida's ADA sign requirements are the federal 2010 Standards, adopted by statute and enforced by your local building department. Permanent room and restroom signs get raised uppercase sans serif letters, Grade 2 braille, a non-glare finish, and a 48 to 60 inch baseline on the latch side. Directional signs need contrast and sizing only. Logos, directories, and menus are exempt.

We build to those guidelines and check every spec before fabrication, but we don't certify compliance; that call belongs to your code authority. If you want a second set of eyes on a room list, our ADA sign service page covers the survey and schedule process, or call the shop at (813) 300-8522.

Sources

Bryan, owner of Bryan Fabrication Works, beside a dimensional lobby sign his shop built in Tampa

About the author

Bryan · Owner, Bryan Fabrication Works

Bryan owns and runs Bryan Fabrication Works, a Tampa sign shop that designs, cuts, finishes, and installs lobby signs, halo-lit LED signs, dimensional letters, ADA signage, and memorial boards under one roof. The guides here come from the questions customers ask him during quotes, and from the jobs in the portfolio.

More about the shop

Ready to talk about ada signs?

Call or text (813) 300-8522, or send your logo and a wall photo through the quote form. We design, cut, finish, and install from one shop in Tampa.

Prefer to text? Message us at (813) 300-8522 — we reply fast during shop hours.

CallStart your project